Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

Rebecca

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

My rating: 2 of 5 stars


I’ve read about 1/3 of this book and nothing has happened. Although it’s billed as suspenseful, I’m not finding myself on the edge of my seat. I’m just bored, waiting for these people to get over themselves and do something. I don’t get the hype. But I suppose if you’re someone who loves long descriptions of driveways and other physical things, this is just the book for you. I just need people to be doing something, and so far, no one has done anything.

I picked this book up with the intention of reading it with a group of others. When I read through their comments on the book after I stopped reading, I felt like I had been reading a different book. They loved it. They thought the protagonist (whom they referred to as a heroine, even though I didn’t see her do anything remotely heroic) was so great and they felt for her, etc. I thought she was a child being taken advantage of by everyone around her and just couldn’t see that. She went from being a hired companion to a child bride of a man in his 40s. She had no sense of self, so I had no sense of who she was supposed to be. And instead of telling people she didn’t know anything, she would just wander around the house until someone told her where she was supposed to be. She wasn’t interesting in the slightest. I just can’t get on board with a main character like that.



View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

Leave a comment